Awards Committee

Awards Committee Chair:  Katie Mangle, Alta Planning + Design

Each year, the Oregon Chapter of the American Planning Association honors outstanding efforts in planning and planning leadership.

Award presentations will be made at the OR/WA Joint Planning Conference in Portland, October 27-28, 2016.  Award recipients will be invited to exhibit their projects, plans or programs at the conference, receive one personalized award and certificate, receive recognition in conference materials and be recognized on the OAPA website.

The OAPA Board and Awards Committee are proud to recognize the following outstanding contributions to planning in Oregon:

Professional Achievement in Planning:
Two separate projects have each been recognized in this category:

•  City of Portland Comprehensive Plan, with special recognition of the “Map App” as a defining feature of the work
•  Salmonberry Trail Concept Plan, Oregon Parks and Recreation Dept.

Public Involvement and Participation:
•  City of Astoria Parks and Recreation Comprehensive Master Plan

Student Achievement in Planning:
•  Portland State University’s MURP Workshop “Pathway 1000” team project prepared for the Portland Community Reinvestment Initiative

Distinguished Leadership – Lifetime Achievement:
•  Hanley Jenkins, II, for service in Union County and with the Land Conservation and Development Commission

Distinguished Leadership – Professional Planner:
•  Don Burt, for service in Medford

Distinguished Leadership by an Elected or Appointed Official:
•  Lawrence Weberg, for service in Crook County

Emerging Professional:
•  Pamela Phan, Design + Culture Lab

Betty Niven Award for Distinguished Leadership in Affordable Housing Advocacy:
•  Ellen Johnson, Oregon Law Center

Awards announcement press release

2016 Awards Committee

Colin Cooper, City of Hillsboro
Peter Gutowsky, Deschutes County
Stacy Humphrey, City of Gresham
Tom Humphrey, City of Central Point
Stephan Lashbrook, City of Wilsonville
Katie Mangle, Alta Planning + Design (chair)
Carla McLane, Morrow County
Ken Pirie, Walker Macy
Kirsten Tilleman, Parsons Brinckerhoff

OAPA Award History (1985-present)