2017 OAPA Awards

Each year, the Oregon Chapter of the American Planning Association honors outstanding efforts and leadership in planning. We have been recognizing talented planners and their excellent work across Oregon for over 30 years.

We received a number of worthy nominations and we are pleased to recognize the following people, agencies and projects for their great work:

  • Professional Achievement in Planning – City of Bend UGB Remand Project; City of Bend, Deschutes County, and Angelo Planning Group Team
  • Project of Statewide Importance – Sadie DiNatale, University of Oregon, Assessing and Responding to Short Term Rentals in Oregon
  • Public Involvement and Participation – Milwaukie All Aboard! Community Vision; City of Milwaukie, Cogan Owens Greene
  • Student Achievement in Planning – UmatillaTogether:  Framework Plan; PSU Student team, City of Umatilla, Umatilla County
  • Distinguished Leadership – Lifetime Achievement – Dick Converse, AICP
  • Distinguished Leadership – Professional Planner – Damian Syrnyk, City of Bend
  • Distinguished Leadership by an Elected or Appointed Official – Kathy Fitzpatrick, City Manager, Mosier
  • Betty Niven Award for Distinguished Leadership in Affordable Housing Advocacy – Cat Goughnour, MSc, Founder and CEO of Radix Consulting

Award presentations will be made at the OAPA/ISOCARP Joint Planning Conference in Portland, during a luncheon on October 27, 2017. If you have questions, contact Awards Committee Chair Katie Mangle at katiemangle@altaplanning.com or 503.200.3249.

The following professionals serve on the OAPA Awards Committee:

  • Katie Mangle, Alta Planning + Design, Chair
  • Ken Pirie, Walker Macy, Communications
  • Carla McLane, Morrow County, Nominee Liaison
  • Colin Cooper, City of Hillsboro
  • Peter Gutowsky, Deschutes County
  • Tom Humphrey, City of Central Point
  • Kirsten Tilleman, WSP
  • Erin Reome, SERA Architects
  • JD Tovey, Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation

Leave a Reply